Week Two: My Search for References

Reference One: The Brain and Adult Learning

Over the past week, I have been reviewing articles and journals regarding how the brain affects the way we learn as adults. I would like to design new training programs that will capture my adult learners and need to understand how to best achieve this.

After reading thorugh dozens of articles, I came across one by Hill (2001) that captures the essence of my focus. Hill’s discussion regarding the ‘neurology of the brain’ (p.73) provides a good base of knowledge on the brain, as aging occurs. The description is clearly stated, allowing non-medical people a look into the brain.

I found the information regarding ‘content vs. context information’ (Hill, 2001, p.75) particularly insightful, as I had not related content or context as a learning process.

Rote Learning (Wikipedia, 2010) was a new concept to me, and is defined as a technique that utilizes memorization along with repetition. I recognized that learner’s typically learn by intrinsic or extrinsic motivators, but was surprised to discover that emotions played a role in motivation (Hill, 2001, p. 76).

Hill (2001) noted there are several factors that contribute to adult learning. They include: people’s experience, adults typically learn better when attributing to real life situations, positive emotions allow for better recall of information, sensory experiences help activate learning, and connecting learning with existing aids (p.79).

Overall, this article provided me with insights into how adults learn.

Reference Two: Problem Solving Methods

I contstantly look for ways to improve training and reviewing class evaluations, is a way for me to understand the struggles students face. Learning how to problem solve, when it pertains to learning, is something I strive to achieve.

The website: Problem solving (2010) has resources available to guide me through methods, that I can utilize to problem solve. The links found within this website are user friendly, and I pariticularly liked the, “Your Guide & Worksheet for Applying the Complete Method of Creative Problem Solving & Decision Making” (Edmund, 2009).

If you are looking for methods to improve or guide you through problems, I recommend you visit: http://www.problemsolving.net/  

I know that I will use this website as a resource when I need to trouble shoot a problem or need guidance.

 References

Edmund, N. W. (2009). Your Guide & Worksheet for Applying the Complete Method
of Creative Problem Solving & Decision Making (SM-14). In Problem solving online. Retrieved from:  http://www.problemsolving.net/wrksheet.html   November 14, 2010.

 Hill, L. H. (2001). The Brain and Consciousness: Sources of Information for Understanding Adult Learning. New Directions for Adult and ContinuingEducation.89,  73-82. Retrieved from: http://www.fsu.edu/~elps/ae/download/ade5385/Hill.pdf  November 14, 2010.

Problem Solving (2010). The Best Problem Solving Method ever devised. Retrieved from: http://www.problemsolving.net  November 14, 2010.

Rote learning (2010) In Wikipedia online. Retrieved from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rote_learning   November 14, 2010.

About tracyg4walden

Currently pursuing Masters degree in Instructional Design and Technology
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

